Dart Race 4 Sailing Update

Update of Dart Race held on Sunday 19th September

Clacton Sailing Club
Dart 18 Class Points
Sunday 19th September

A heaving grey sea, grey clouds, slowly receding tide and a stiffening breeze saw a fleet of intrepid sailors prepare for this crucial race in the Catamaran series, One or two of the fleet were missing and this ensured the competition to secure best results for the Series would be of the highest order.

A probing attack at the start saw Team Chivers flash away into the teeth of the headwind, quickly shaking off the pack, sailing more seawards fast and free, with wily Tim Dye and Matt Burrell holding a tighter line towards the first turning mark. Ben Chandler & Laura J Tabis held a course between these two extremes, flying a hull in the force 5 gusts for a while until they decided to retire. Martyn Mellersh and Dan Eagle kept out of trouble and gamely plunged after the leaders – it was Dan’s first experience in helming a cat but his resolve was not shaken by the conditions.

The race proper was between Team Chivers and the Dye/Burrell partnership, with Chivers just yards ahead as they rounded one of the turning marks. High seas, a bouncing inflatable buoy, a running tide - and a slight lapse of judgement – saw the tip of one of the rudder blades touch the mark. This was something of a disaster, for it incurred a penalty-at-sea action. Being experienced sailors and knowing the Racing Rules, Team Chivers moved off their sailing line to complete a full 360o turn before gathering speed again. It was at this point that Tim and Matt forged ahead and maintained their narrow lead right to the finish.

Despite the very testing conditions, there were no capsizes or damage and all returned to the beach unscathed.

The results:

1 7563 Time Dye & Matt Burrell
2 7127 Martin & Simon Chivers

The final races for the season will be the Golden Fillet Handicap and Dart Class Points 6, both to be held at 11.00 on the 10th October – and the month will close with the Annual Laying Up Supper in the Clubhouse on the 23rd and the AGM on the 31st.